Skip to content

God With Us!

December 27, 2011

I know Christmas is over! Trees are being taken down. Ornaments are put back in secure boxes til next year. Giff said that Target has even started stocking their shelves for Valentines Day!

However, I don’t want to leave this season too quickly without soaking in God’s particular message TO ME!

It’s a point that has been brought home to my heart again and again this last week or so. “Immanuel: God With Us!” God bridged the gap that was between us because of my sin. But not only did He redeem me, He validated my existence. He came for me! I’m not one in a million…I’m one! I stand alone with the Lover of my soul! He came for me! I am the Apple of His eye!

We were watching “Blind Side” tonight as a family. Again, this point was driven home! For those of you who haven’t seen the movie, let me summarize it by saying that the Tulley Family took in a street kid as their own and loved on him (Big Mike). They endured some ridicule as a family because he was an oversized black kid who came from the wrong side of the tracks in an all-white Christian school living with a white upperclass family.

In one scene, Big Mike walks into the school library to study. His “sister” (Collins) was sitting with her friends, and when Big Mike walked in, her friends gave him a disgusted-you-shouldn’t-be-here look. Collins left her table to go sit with Big Mike. That spoke volumes to me! She validated him. She valued him! She chose to identify with him!

God came for me! He CHOSE to leave His glory and identify with ME!!! He values me! He validates me! He identifies with my weakness, my feelings and my crazy life! He is not overwhelmed by my neediness! All of Him is enough for all of me!!!

“Long lay the world in sin and error pining til He appeared and the soul felt its worth. A thrill of hope. The weary world rejoices!”

As followers of Christ, we need to be incarnational in our relationships with others. Enter their pain! Enter their neediness. He is enough!

Life can get messy, especially when extending Christ to others in the midst of their lives.  It doesn’t always come in cute little gift wrapped packages. No….it comes in the midst of scandal (Joseph and Mary), and life happens in the most unlikely places (in a stinky manger)! Nevertheless, He is there! Don’t be afraid to “weep with those who weep!”

I’ll leave you with a quote I heard this morning on the radio:

“I have a strict policy nobody cries alone in my presence!” (Dolly Pardon in Steel Magnolias).

Cry with those who cry and rejoice with those rejoicing!

Immanuel: God With Us!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

