Skip to content

I Hope I Won’t Be Arrested!

January 13, 2011

image

So…I just got done smugly boasting at how my new schedule/routine was working out so well, when Giff called and asked if the house could be ready for him to bring some Sheriff Deputies over to do some Amendment Arms business.

Ummm…..okay! Have you seen our house? We’ve only just begun with our new schedule. Cleaning house was later this afternoon. I guess I didn’t consult the principal of Kairos Academy on this new thing I implemented. I don’t even think I prayed about it and asked God to bless my efforts!

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans…the Lord works out everything to its proper end!” (Prov. 16:3). “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps!” (Prov. 16:9)!

Oooops! Logan just pooped! Can’t he wait to do this when the deputies leave?! I’m desperate! I just bribed Zachary to change his poopy diaper with 5 M & Ms. He is a negotiator. He weazled 6 out of me. Maybe he’ll grow up to be a lawyer!

At any rate, I give my schedule to the Lord and He can see fit to do with it as He pleases. We are in the process of looking into getting a storefront for Amendment Arms. Hopefully, sooner than later! We’re waiting on the Lord to provide capital. Where the Lord guides, He provides!

Along with selling tactical equipment to military and law enforcement communities, the Lord has laid it on our hearts to pray for and to minister to their marriages and their families as well. God’s heart is for marriages and families to stay intact! The enemy hates that! He will do everything possible to tear apart anything and everything that God has put together. There is conflicting statistical data, but suffice it to say that military and law enforcement marriages have high rates of divorce.

Reasons cited range from the extremely odd and unpredictable hours, to having to be spontaneous and not hold any preplanned events too tightly. Spouses can’t expect that their wives/husbands will want to come home and share about their day in detail. Sometimes these first responders see the worst of the worst of society and it weighs heavily upon them. More often than not, they take their work home with them. Some spouses deal with crippling fear while their husband/wife is working. Fear that they won’t come home. Fear of the unknown.

This is not to say that everyone who marries a police officer, a soldier or a firefighter are doomed for divorce before the marriage license is even signed. However, it does present challenges that the average marriage does not need to overcome. It can be done! With God’s help and people coming alongside them, they can stay the course and be one of the few that do stay happily married. Their children can thrive!

Bigger lessons learned today! Teachable moment on how to turn on a dime when the situation requires it, especially if the Lord is the One asking us to. I just hope they don’t arrest me for being a bad housekeeper! Ha!

Julie

PS: BEFORE shots taken at 10:20am. I’ll post the AFTER shot when we’re done.

C’mon boys! Get busy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

