Skip to content

Time to Rise and Shine

January 12, 2011

I know it’s the middle of January already, but better late than never! I am starting my new year with some new habits and routines. The last week I spent figuring out a weekday routine that I think will work. I discussed the routine with Zachary and Matthew this morning, and so far so good! There was no resistance! We’ll see how it goes when I actually execute the plan tomorrow. New habits require time and consistency before they become second nature, but we are more than ready for a little more structure and routine. I’m a dichotomy when it comes to that. I need structure and routine; however, within that framework, I need flexibility and spontaneity. Sounds kind of “oxymoronish,” doesn’t it?

One new habit I am implementing is that the twins have to start waking up to an alarm. YIKES!!! Zachary gets up readily. Matthew, on the other hand, likes to sleep in late. I’ve always said I have an Oscar and a Felix living under my roof!

7-9:30 a.m.

Wake up with a good attitude!

Eat breakfast.

Morning chores.

Get ready for the day.

Devotions (This Christmas they received Josh McDowell’s One Year devotional, a journal and a sketch pad for Christmas from their Poppy!)

This schedule will allow me to concentrate on Logan and getting Andrew ready for school. Andrew’s bus picks him up at 8:30 a.m., so that will allow me time to do what I need to do to get ready for the day also.

9:30-11:30 a.m.

School

11:30a-12:30p

Lunch and Clean up

12:30-2:30p

Independent School Work

2:30-4:30p

Afternoon chores

Free time (How long will be determined by how fast they get done with their afternoon chores.)

4:30-6p

Dinner: Zachary and Matthew will  take turns playing with Logan while I get dinner ready. They also like to help make dinner. The bus drops Andrew off around 4:30p. He likes to help make dinner also.

6:30-8p

Family time (games, movie, etc.).

8p

Andrew and Logan go to bed.

9p

Zachary and Matthew go to bed. They can stay up later if they earn that privilege.

There’s my new schedule/routine for 2011! I am excited to get it going. Within this framework, I need to allow for the unexpected opportunities as well as the unexpected interruptions and not get so bogged down when the schedule doesn’t go exactly as planned! But I also realize that I need to give this a good try before I say it doesn’t work.

Do you have a daily routine? Would you share it with me?

There’s just not enough time in the day to get everything done, and I need to be okay with that. But with this schedule/routine, I can hopefully get some of them done!

Do you have new year’s hopes and plans? Share them with me!

Enjoy your day! I know I will!

Julie

PS: I’m also wondering that instead of listing exact times for things, it would work better if I just labeled them in order (1, 2, 3).

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 9:03 am

    My goal for this year is to really keep consistent with exercise. I have been ALL over the place with this the last 10 years. So far, I have been consistent with it almost 11 months (started last March). I am hoping signing up for some races will help with that =)
    Our routine is pretty all over the place, though we do have a ‘loose’ routine.
    8:30-10:00, wake up, brekky and chores for kiddos and mom
    10-12 school
    12-1 lunch
    1-1:15 lunch tidy up
    1:15-3:00 baths/showers for those whose day it is, finish up any leftover school from morning, free play time/craft time
    3-4 Josh’s nap (really just a room time for him as he only sleeps during this time maybe once a week) and the girls’ have a snack while I read to them
    4-5 free play
    5-6:30 dinner prep, dinner, dinner clean up
    6:30-7:15 free play or movie time
    7:15 teeth brushing, getting ready for bed
    7:45 Josh in bed, girls having ‘talk time’ in their room
    8:30 put the girls into ‘dark time’ (we pray, give hugs etc, turn out the lights and turn on Christmas lights, they can talk for 10 minutes)
    8:45 (yeah, its not always exactly 10 minutes =)) put them into quiet time, no talking unless its important.
    That is a routine that is just sort of ‘happened’, nothing I planned out. I need to workout a better schedule and start having them get up earlier. They naturally get up around that time, but my older 2 usually dont fall asleep til 11, so I think if I started to get them up earlier (and let the youngest girl sleep in as she would need it), that they would start falling asleep earlier. It feels funny knowing my kids are staying up later than me! =)
    Sorry for the ‘book’ =)

Leave a Reply

