Skip to content

What Do You Want to Be When You Grow Up?

October 20, 2010

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had many different ideas throughout the years of what I wanted to be when I grew up. I always played school, with or without my sisters and brothers. My Mom always thought I would become a teacher.

I’ve had asthma since I was 5 years old. When I was younger, I spent quite a bit of time in the emergency room; subsequently. I developed an interest in the medical field. Nursing was an option. I also had ambitions to find a “cure” for asthma.

After discovering that I enjoyed writing, being an author intrigued me – still does! I can legitimately say I am no longer an “aspiring” writer; I am a published author. I have written for a daily devotional and am now writing monthly for a blog called Hopeful Parents – a grassroots support for parents with kids with special needs, of which I am one.

At one point in my life, moving to New York City, New York to be a live-in nanny had somewhat of an appeal to me. I thought living in the Big City taking care of kids and getting all the perks that went along with working for a wealthy family sounded glamorous and fun.

I’m all grown up now, and I realize that God had a much grander plan in mind when he created a mother’s heart in me!

I am a teacher. I homeschool two of my four boys.

I am a nurse, kissing their “owies” when they hurt.

I am also an author as I write letters to the world on the pages of my sons’ lives. These pages will be read long after I’m gone.

I am a nanny, only I get to take care of my own children, enjoying all the perks that go along with the job. “Mommy, I love you!” is one perk that never gets old. We may never be wealthy in the world’s estimation, but I am blessed beyond measure with the family I’ve been given. Each and every one of my boys is a unique gift to me from my Loving Father in heaven. I’m laying up treasures where moth nor rust can destroy. So in that regard, I’m wealthy beyond my wildest dreams!

What do you want to be when you grow up?

May all your dreams, goals and plans be realized! More importantly, may you be open to how God chooses to fulfill those dreams, goals and plans. His ways are higher than our ways! His thoughts are higher than our thoughts!

His plans are always better, and He does “far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams!” (Eph. 3:20—The Message).

Julie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

