Skip to content

# Days and Counting…

July 10, 2010

…approximately 75 months (2250 days) left until my twins turn 18! YIKES!!! Have we done all that we can do to the best of our knowledge to let these little birds learn to fly on their own? Do you every feel that way? Now, I know that they don’t pack their bags and I am to automatically stop being their Mom on their 18 birthday, but that is typically the age when we consider them adults.

My melancholy/choleric, ENTJ(P) personality is really showing! I think about the future ALOT!!! I want to make the most of every opportunity I have been given with these precious treasures of ours! You see…I prayed for these boys! I prayed that the Lord would give me twins! God blessed me as the firstborn (of six children) with a “double portion!” Others knew it was a desire of my heart to have twins! While I was working at CFN magazine in Dallas, TX, I babysat a set of twins in the Dallas area. (I also babysat the Jonas Brothers a few times also! — That’s my claim to fame in this world! The Jonas family attended the same Bible College Giff and I attended. Their Dad was our worship leader.) Anyway….I babysat this fraternal set of twins (boy/girl) had a sister who was only 1 year older than they were, there were problems all around! The mom would have me come to babysit just so she could take a bath! I wondered to myself, “Why in the world am I praying for twins!” I released that desire to God and told Him that if he saw fit to bless me with twins, I would welcome them. If not, that was okay, but I was going to stop praying for twins.

A few years later, Giff and I got married and were telling people we would probably start trying to have a family after being married for a year. Unbeknownst to us, we were pregnant on our first anniversary! After some initial problems with the pregnancy, I needed to go in and have an ultrasound done. As I was laying on that table with the sono-tech squeezing the warm jelly on my 8-week-pregnant belly, she declared that there were two babies in there! I immediately started crying, and Giff was reminding me that I had prayed for twins a while back! I’ll never forget that day!

God had also dropped into my heart that I would have a boy first, and we would name him Zachary David. Little did I know at the time that the meaning of his name would hold such significance in my heart later on as we were in the doctor’s office. Zachary means “God remembers!” and David means “His beloved!” In essence, God was telling me in His usual fashion, “Julie, I have heard the desires of your heart!”

Then we had to decide on the second name! We decided upon Matthew Thomas! Matthew means “Gift of God!” And Thomas means “twin!” Matthew was the gift that made it a set of twins since we already knew there would be a Zachary.

I am so grateful for these boys! I take seriously what God has entrusted into our care! I love my boys and want to do right by them! I know I am not perfect, and I know they will not grow up to be perfect, but I want to live with no regrets and to be able to watch them leave the nest, knowing I have done my job and I have done it well!

Food for thought! How many months/days do you have with your children? Are you making the most of every opportunity you get with them? I’ve already started to consider the kind of grandma I want to be when that time rolls around. But for now….I’ll invest in the ones I have and enjoy each day as if it were my last!

May God’s richest blessings overtake you at every turn!

Julie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

