Skip to content

Join Me!

May 17, 2010

I am not quite sure how to figure out how to move my weight loss ticker to show my weight loss progress. I’ll have to figure that out soon. But for now, my goals is to lose 78 pounds within one year. I will accomplish this by eating and drinking:

1200 calories/day
25-30 grams of fiber
64 ounces of water

I will exercise at least 30 minutes a day with a higher heart rate! It usually helps to have a heart rate monitor that can tell you how many calories you have burned!

I will be posting different articles and information regarding what I’m doing and how I came up with those numbers, etc. The concept is really quite simple: BURN MORE CALORIES THAN YOU CONSUME! A pound of fat consists of 3500 calories, and there are seven (7) days in a week. If you burn 500 calories more than you consume every day, you will lose a pound of fat a week. If you add exercise to that, you will burn even more. PLUS, you will cause your metabolism to burn calories even when you are sleeping!

Please consider joining me on this journey! We can do it — easier when we’re not alone!

Hopefully, you’ll be seeing less of me soon!

Julie

PS: If you decide to join me, please let me know! We will also weigh on the same time on the same day! Usually it’s best to weigh in the morning BEFORE you’ve had anything to eat or drink and with the same clothes on for consistency! Think about it! We can do this!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 9:41 pm

    Hi, I found your blog on my tag surfer and it looks like we’re doing the same sort of thing 🙂
    I usually weigh in on Wednesdays (Weigh-In Wednesdays lol), I’m at a bit of a plateau, I haven’t lost much weight in the past couple of weeks but I’ve lost inches. I’ll add you to my follow list and cheer you on.

    Good luck!

    • May 17, 2010 10:32 pm

      That is a good idea: Weigh-In Wednesdays! Maybe I will do the same thing! Regardless when we weigh in, it is iimportant to weigh in the same time every week with the same clothes on BEFORE eating or DRINKING anything! Do you have much of a following? I used to belong to a group that met every Saturday morning. We were kind of a pilot accountability group. Now, some time has passed and in order to be in his group, you have to pay a monthly fee! I figured posting my numbers every week would be some accountability. And some is better than none!

      How much have you lost? Do you exercise as well?

    • June 2, 2010 9:51 pm

      Hello! How are you? Are you going to join us on our weight loss journey? If you are and are interested in having me figuring out your BMR, let me know. Email me at mroeorlessofme@gmail.com. Good luck on your journey!

  2. Michelle permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:07 pm

    I’d love to join you, Julie. I’m just not sure I have the self discipline. I would love to lose about 30 pounds, but have no scale with which to do any weighing. I’ve avoided them like the plague!! I’ve tried to watch what I eat and to exercise, but I get lazy quickly and end up finding that “I don’t have time!” Not sure what the answer is, but I do know I’d love to lose weight and get in shape a bit!

  3. Ruth Blum permalink
    May 18, 2010 9:46 am

    Julie, I am so excited for you and I am sure you’ll have great success if you follow this plan. I look forward to seeing your progress as you blog about the whole experience. I’d like to share a few tips of what I did to lose weight…..I hope you’ll find some of it useful along your journey!

    I started doing this last Fall in pretty much the same way and have lost the weight I wanted to lose, and most importantly have kept it off! The first month I started I wrote down everything I ate & tried to make sure I was monitoring my portion sizes (very important to do) and how many calories I was eating in a day….also, don’t eat less than 1200 calories a day otherwise you will see adverse effects. I ate breakfast, then around 10 am a snack, then lunch, 2 pm snack, then supper and another evening snack….but, try to end your eating for the day by about 7 or 7:30 pm. PLANNING your food in advance is so important too as is weighing yourself first thing every morning just as you said. WRITE DOWN your weight daily so you can monitor how much you’re losing….losing slowly is better than trying to starve to lose it quickly….that’s a recipe for disaster! Eat the right kinds of foods….the kinds that are healthy, not just low in calories.

    Don’t rely on anyone else to keep you pumped up….people can be encouraging, but if they’re not always doing that you need to keep focused and remember that “you got yourself over weight, you have to be the one to lose the weight!”

    Hope this helps! Oh yeah, and like you said….drink LOTS of water!
    Love ya’, Auntie Ruthie

Leave a Reply

